busy

honey bee

Here’s a summery picture to cheer you up on a cold winter’s day. Well, it works for me, anyway. It’s a design for a label for jars of honey.

I’ve just been overhauling the brakes on the Moggy, ready for its MOT test. The drums on the back end were crumbling to pieces, so I put some new ones on; and I found that one of the snail cam adjusters on one of the front brakes was broken, so I repaired it by bodging a piece of Jubilee clip into shape, like this

snail cam

…and here is the wheel going back together again

rebuilding the front wheel

…I don’t know why, but my cars have always seemed to need MOT tests in the middle of winter, so it’s cold wet and miserable and the last thing you want to do is go out and goof around fixing a car.

 

Snail cams are fun, anyway. Apart from looking like snails (hence the name) they remind me of that diagram you get for a Fibonacci sequence.

Ow, sore fingers.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to busy

  1. Celia Warren says:

    Gorgeous bee and summery garden. Just the tonic for February fill-dyke weather!

  2. anjiknut says:

    Yes, your bee does warm a winter’s day. We had sunshine yesterday and a tiny taste of spring. Found my (two) snowdrops.

    Was the Jubilee clip invented for Queen Victoria’s Jubilee?

  3. Dru says:

    Hi, Celia!
    It was too late for that, Anji, and apparently the reason for the name is a mystery. Perhaps “I ju-bi-leeve it will hold…” But the story makes a good read on Wikipedia!

  4. Jenny Alto says:

    Just at the moment I’ve managed to synchronise all mine with the summer, no more messing about in the freezing cold for me!

    I take it that the car passed then?

  5. Dru says:

    no, it needs some welding doing underneath, damn. I knew it was going to need some soon, but was hoping it would survive until the summer. I think I’m going to have to learn the art of TIG (or do I mean MIG?) before long, but for the mo someone is doing it for me.

  6. Philip Watson says:

    My dread was always that note in the advisory section, ‘welding becoming excessive’. It was that weld-upon-weld patchwork quilt look that provoked Froggie’s rebuild on a new galv chassis fifteen years ago. Pity you can’t do that with a Minor saloon or Traveller.
    I’ve always been a little surprised how one never seems to see ‘specials’ built on a Morris Minor van chassis: I’d have thought it would work quite well.

    • Dru says:

      I’m worried about the state of the underside, Philip. Hopefully it’s survive until I’ve got somewhere with a workshop so that I can do some serious work down there… I wonder if the rarity of specials is down to the conservative aesthetics of Moggy owners? -if I had a van, I don’t think I’d want to modify it. Not substantially, anyway…

    • Jenny Alto says:

      The rarity of Minor based specials might be due to the much greater suitability and availability of the Triumph Herald/Vitesse as a platform. And before that the bigger 1950s Austin Somerset as favoured by all the ‘rodders back in the day.

      I don’t envy you welding the underside lacework, I’m fortunate in having my dad’s practiced welding eye for mine.

  7. Caroline says:

    Why not get the next test early when the weather is more suitable for getting grimy. It may mean a small loss of cash but what price not having to work with cold numb fingers.

    At the first opportunity I get the tax renewal six months away from possible mot bills.

    Caroline xxx

Leave a Reply

