‘Becoming Drusilla’ book event for LGBT History Month

out and about

February is LGBT* History Month. This has been going on in the UK since 2005, and manages to retain a make-it-up-as-you-go-along sort of feeling even now. Last year, Richard and I were over in Norwich, doing an event at UEA and attending a tea-and-cakes party in celebration of Barbara Ross. It was really rather fun.

I’ve got sort-of-involved with Bristol City Council’s planning team for the city’s contribution to LGBT History Month this year, after getting in touch with them last year when I found that the LGBTHM recommended reading list was a bit deficient in the T side of things. So I drafted a T-specific recommended reading list, a copy of which you will find here. Sorry about the formatting, I’m working on it…. (If you have any comments or further recommendations, do let me know). And I went to one of the meetings of the LGBT book club at the library, to discuss ‘Becoming Drusilla’, and I got to meet some really nice people and have a good talk about stuff, including the book.

This year, Richard and I will be doing a reading event at Bristol Central Library. It’s on Friday 25th February, between 6:00pm and 7:00pm. The reading events we’ve done so far have always been fun, and sometimes quite eventful- like in Dublin, when Richard came down with the chicken pox and was replaced at short notice by John Boyne.

*OK, gentle reader, let’s take this one stage at a time. Quite a few people don’t actually know what LGBT stands for. It stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender. And if that sounds like a bit of a mouthful, then you may like to ponder LGBTTQQIA.

This entry was posted in Appearances, LGBT, News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Becoming Drusilla’ book event for LGBT History Month

  1. Jane Wharam says:

    I’ll try and be there, Dru – and I’ve pondered LGBTTQQIA and given up…….

  2. Delia says:

    Pondering is hurting my brain – please may I give up, too? I don’t mind waiting!

  3. Dru says:

    it’s Transsexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Intersex, Ally …though there are other options …probably…

  4. anjiknut says:

    Congratulations to Barbara for her O.B.E.

    Hope that you are both well enough for the reading.

  5. Dru says:

    Blimey, yes- I’d forgotten about the Gall Bladder Incident!

  6. Graham says:

    LGBTTQQIA – Gawd, what a mouthful. In a manner of speaking. It’s like one of those word wheels where you have to see how many words you can make. Nurse! More vowels!

    • Dru says:

      I’m sure that with a little imagination, one could add a few other letters to the mix. Though if you went too far you might end up with a simple E for Everyone

Leave a Reply

